Saturday, 24 June 2017

Saudi Arabia, 16 other countries declares Sunday Eid-el-Fitr

Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Malaysia, Indonesia the United Arab Emirates and 15 other countries have announced an end to this year’s Ramadan Fast, TV station, Aljazeera, is reporting.

The countries have therefore fixed Sunday as the first day of Eid-el-Fitr 1438, the report said.

Eid al-Fitr is usually commemorated marks the end of the Muslim holy fasting month of Ramadan.
The report added, “Turkey and Muslim communities in North America, Europe and Australia had previously announced they would celebrate Eid al-Fitr from Sunday June 25 based on astronomical calculations.

“Oman, however, has not sighted the moon, and thus declared Monday June 26 as the first day of Eid al-Fitr.

“Bangladesh, Pakistan, India will be sighting the moon on Sunday. These countries started Ramadan on May 28 and so Sunday will be the 29th of Ramadan for them.”

All the countries who have confirmed Sunday as Eid-el-Fitr are Australia, Bahrain, Canada, Iraq (Sunnis), Indonesia, Jordan, Kuwait, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Lebanon, Malaysia, UAE, UK, United States and Yemen.

Nigeria is yet to announce the sighting of the moon.

No comments:

Post a comment